Notice on National Returning Officers

National Secretary Paddy Crumlin has advised that following the 2014 National Council Bill Giddins was appointed as National Returning Officer to fill a vacancy created by the then unavailability of Phil Byrne due to family illness. This was endorsed by the Annual General Meeting of the Union. 

The Offices of Deputy National Returning Officers remained vacant at that time.

Phil Byrne and Neil Swanson, the two previous National and Deputy National Returning Officers had advised that they are available for the Offices of Deputy National Returning Officers if required.

Rule 44(e) of the Rules of the Union enabled National Council to appoint replacement Deputy National Returning Officers where such vacancies arise.

Following consultation with and recommendation by the National Executive of the Union, and consistent with National Council decision to maximise the participation of membership in the ballot, and in accordance with Rule 44(e) of the Rules of the Union, National Council subsequently appointed Phil Byrne and Neil Swanson as Deputy National Returning Officers to assist in the 2015 MUA Quadrennial Election and to work as directed by the National Returning Officer.