MUA Women’s Committee Nominations Are Now Open

In accordance with the MUA Rules, the Women’s Committee Rules and past practice for Women’s Committee Elections, the Nomination period has now opened and female members who wish to nominate for a State or Territory position on the National Women’s Committee may download the nomination form here. 

Nominations will close at noon on Monday, June 1, 2015. Nomination forms can also be obtained from your local Branch Offices. Nominations are to be in writing, signed by the nominee and two financial members of the Union and forwarded by mail, or delivered to:

National Returning Officer

Maritime Union of Australia

PO Box 20433

World Square, Sydney, NSW, 2002

The composition of the Women’s Committee is set out below:


Number of Representatives

NSW 3 (1 Sydney Ferries, 2 General)
SA 1
WA 2
TAS 2 (1 SPOT, 1 General)
NT 1
Total 13

In the event there are more candidates than the necessary number for any position, a postal ballot of women members within that area will be conducted, the postal ballot opening on Monday, June 15 and closing Monday, June 29 at noon. The counting will commence after this time. The procedures for the conduct of any election, if held, will be consistent with the procedures utilised in the MUA Quadrennial Elections.